MEHARI (3 Days)

//MEHARI (3 Days)
MEHARI (3 Days)2018-12-13T11:21:45+00:00

Project Description

Developing the necessary skills to perform a risk assessment based on the MEHARI method
This training using MEHARI enables the participants to master the basic risk management elements related to information security using the MEHARI method. The MEHARI (MEthode Harmonisée d’Analyse de Risques) method was developed by the “Club de la Sécurité des Systèmes d’Information Français” (CLUSIF). Based on practical exercises and case studies, participants acquire the necessary knowledge and skills needed to perform an optimal information security risk assessment and manage risks in time by being familiar with their life cycle. This training fits perfectly in the framework of an ISO/IEC 27001:2005 standard implementation process.
Who should attend?
• Risk managers
• Persons responsible for information security or conformity within an organization
• Member of the information security team
• IT consultants
• Staff participating in the activities of risk assessment with the MEHARI method
Learning objectives
• To develop the necessary skills to conduct a risk assessment with the MEHARI method
• To master the steps to conduct a risk assessment with the MEHARI method
• To understand the concepts, approaches, methods and techniques allowing an effective management of risk according to MEHARI
• To interpret the requirements of ISO 27001 on information security risk management
• To understand the relationship between the information security risk management, the security controls and the compliance with the requirements of different stakeholders of an organization
Course agenda
Day 1: Start of a risk assessment with MEHARI
• Concepts and definitions related to risk management
• Standards, frameworks and methodologies in risk management
• Presentation of MEHARI
• Assessment and classification issues
• The value chain for failures
• Classification of resources
Day 2: Assessment of vulnerabilities and risk, according MEHARI
• Assessment of the vulnerabilities
• Qualities of a security service
• Measuring the quality of a security service
• Evaluation process
• Risk assessment
Day 3: Security planning according to MEHARI & exam
• Security plans and procedures
• Tools to support the implementation of MEHARI
• The “MEHARI advanced” exam (3 hours

A basic knowledge of risk management is recommended
Educational approach
This training is based on the alternation of theory and practice:
• Sessions of lectures illustrated with examples based on real cases
• Practical exercises based on case studies
• Review exercises to assist the exam preparation
• Practice test similar to the exam
To benefit from the practical exercises, the number of training participants is limited
Examination and certification
The “MEHARI Advanced” exam fully meets the requirements of the PECB Examination Certification Program (ECP) and is labeled by CLUSIF. The exam covers the following competence domains:
• Domain 1: Fundamental principles and concepts in information security risk management according to MEHARI
• Domain 2: Information security risk management program based on MEHARI
• Domain 3: Information security risk assessment based on MEHARI
• Domain 4: Information security risk treatment based on MEHARI
• Domain 5: Information security risk communication, monitoring and improvement based on MEHARI
The “MEHARI Advanced” exam is available in different languages (the complete list of languages can be found in the examination application form
Duration: 3 hours
For more information about the exam, refer to the PECB section on ISO/IEC 27005 Risk Manager Exam at
A certificate will be issued to the participants who successfully complete the exam
General information
• An educational version of the software “Risicare” is given to the participants and a copy of the official MEHARI documentation published by the CLUSIF
• Exam and certification fees are included in the training price
• A student manual containing over 300 pages of information and practical examples are given to the participants
• A participation certificate of 21 CPD (Continuing Professional Development) credits is awarded to the participants